Home / Governors List

Governors List

If you wish to contact any of the School Governors then please e-mail them
c/o philips@bury.gov.uk
stating which Governor you wish to contact.  Your e-mail will be forwarded on to them as soon as possible.


Governors of Philips High School  –  November 2023. (issue 2)

Category: Name: Appointment Start: Appointment End:
Co-opted Mrs Ruth Taylor 27/03/2017 26/03/2025
Co-opted Mr David Evans (Vice-Chair) 09/10/2022 08/10/2026
Co-opted Mr Derek Russell 09/10/2022 08/10/2026
Co-opted Mr Andrew Holt 15/03/2023 14/03/2027
Co-opted Miss Kathryn Dawson 01/09/2020 31/08/2024
Co-opted Mrs Helene Watson 01/09/2020 31/08/2024
Co-opted Mr John Mallon (Chair) 01/09/2020 31/08/2024
Co-opted VACANCY    
Co-opted VACANCY    
Co-opted VACANCY    
LEA Mr Russell Bernstein 01/09/2023 31/08/2027
Parent Suzanne Gotheimer 04/10/2021 03/10/2025
Parent Paul Booth 04/10/2021 03/10/2025
Staff Ms Tina Owen (Headteacher) 11/04/2016 N/A
Staff Mr Chris Hibbert (Co Headteacher) 01/09/2019 N/A

Constitution:   Staff: 1 (1 vacancy),    Parents 2 (0 vacancy),    Co-opted: 8 (3 vacancies),  LEA: 1.      TOTAL:  12 (4 Vacancies)

Associate Member Mr. David Lewis 30/11/2019 29/11/2023
Associate Member Mrs Michelle Wiseman (Morris) 30/11/2019 29/11/2023
Associate Member Mrs Damaris Ahmed 30/11/2019 29/11/2023
Associate Member Mr Bernie Vincent 30/11/2019 29/11/2023
Associate Member Mr Mark Lockwood 01/09/2020 01/09/2024
Associate Member Mrs Kim Turton 11/09/2020 10/09/2024

Chair:                          Mr John Mallon
Vice Chair:                  Mr David Evans

SLT Link Governors September 2023

Subject Link Governors SLT Contact Dept. Head
English D.Russell &TBD Chris Hibbert Inez Bruce
Mathematics D.Russell &TBD Chris Hibbert Jill Rothwell
Science D.Russell &TBD Chris Hibbert S. Cochrane
ICT/Computing R.Bernstein &TBD Dawn Makin Matt Coldwell
ICT/Computing R.Bernstein &TBD Dawn Makin Tim Fleming
ICT/Computing       R.Bernstein &TBD Dawn Makin Eleri McLuskie
ICT/Computing R.Bernstein &TBD Dawn Makin Jenny Dobson
P.E. D.Russell &TBD Chris Hibbert Pietro Carinci
Music D.Russell & A.Holt Jo Potts Judith Dalziel
Art R.Bernstein & S.Gotheimer Emma Platt Vicky Craig
Drama D.Russell & A.Holt Jo Potts Abbie McCrone
Technology R.Bernstein & S.Gotheimer Emma Platt Matt Grundy
Food Technology R.Bernstein & S.Gotheimer Emma Platt Claire Chapple
MFL R.Bernstein &TBD Dawn Makin Emma Wightman
Life Skills/Character D.Russell & J.Mallon Jo Potts Rachel Williams
SEND H.Watson & TBD Jane Duxbury Fran Cooper
CCF J.Mallon & D.Russell Justine Bailey Rachel McCarthy
Safeguarding D.Evans & P.Booth Tina Owen Alex Kansik
Attendance P.Booth & D.Evans Tina Owen Judith Dalziel
Education of LAC P.Booth & D.Evans Tina Owen Judith Dalziel
Finance VACANCY Tina Owen Ruth Taylor
Health & Safety Helene Watson Tina Owen Ruth Taylor
Website Paul Booth Tina Owen Scott Fitton

PHS GB Sub – Committees’ Membership.

September 2023.

Finance & General & Purposes Personnel Curriculum
VACANCY (Committee Chair) VACANCY (Committee Chair) R.Bernstein (Committee Chair)
T.Owen (HT) T.Owen (HT) T.Owen (HT)
C.Hibbert (Co-HT) C.Hibbert (Co-HT) C.Hibbert (Co-HT)
R,Taylor (Business Manager) R.Taylor (Business Manager) J.Mallon
J.Mallon (CoG) J.Mallon (CoG) H.Watson
H.Watson (H&S governor) H.Watson (H&S governor) D.Evans
D.Evans (Safeguarding) D.Evans (Safeguarding) D.Russell
R.Bernstein (Curriculum) R.Bernstein (Curriculum) A.Holt
  D.Russell S.Gotheimer
  A.Holt P.Booth
  S.Gotheimer K.Dawson
  P.Booth A.Holt

Finance & GP and Personnel committees will meet back to back on the same day.

Curriculum Committee will meet on a separately as necessary to focus on Quality of Education.

In General Committee meetings will take place on a Tuesday and Full GB meetings on a Thursday, allowing governors to attend meetings around their work / life commitments.

Staff Hearings, Dismissal Appeals and Pupil Discipline Committees

The Governors determined these Committees would be made up from a panel of any available, Non–School staff / LA Employee Governors.

Complaints Appeals Committee

The Governors determined that this Committee would be made up from a panel of any available, Non – School / LA Employee Governors.

Membership is dependent on no prior knowledge of the Case being heard.

The Governing Body Chair is excluded from selection to this Committee due to having prior knowledge of the Case being heard – see the School’s Complaints Procedure.

Governing Body (Quorum: 7).
Governor’s Name: Term:
Spring 2022 Summer 2022 Autumn
Summer 2023
Mr. J. Mallon (Chair).
Mr. D. J. Evans (Vice-Chair).  ✔
Mrs. R. Taylor. AP AP
Mr. C Hibbert (Co – Headteacher) N/A N/A N/A AP AP
Ms. T. Owen (Headteacher). N/A AP  ✔ AP
Mr. D. Russell.
Miss. K. Dawson. AP
Mrs. H. Watson. AP
Mrs. L. Gibbons. N/A  N/A N/A
Mr. D. Benyaacov-Kurtzman. AP N/A N/A N/A
Miss. S. Kayani. A N/A


Mr A Holt. N/A N/A N/A  ✔ N/A AP
Mr. R. Bernstein. P/T AP
Mr.P. Booth N/A N/A N/A
Ms. S Gotheimer N/A N/A N/A AP  ✔ AP

Key:    ✔ –  Present. N/A – Not Applicable as the Governor concerned had not been elected to the Governing            Body at the time of the Meeting. AP – Apologies.